Ban on IPods and Cell Phones

There is a move here in NYC to ban IPod type music device use and texting and cell phone use while you walk here in the city.

When I first heard the idea it sounded ridiculous.  But then I thought about it for a while and changed my mind.

When I first moved back to NYC I was a Walkman addict.  I was used to wearing it whenever I walked or ran.  After I was living in Brooklyn for about a month; I was on my way to the subway, just grooving and boppin’ to my tunes.

As I walked I was paying no attention to much other than my sounds and my ultimate destination.

My walking was interrupted mid-stride when I swung my arm back and hit someone right behind me.  And I do mean RIGHT behind me.  I turned quickly to see who this was and there was a teenage boy with hand extended, poised to rip my handbag right off my shoulder.  I pivoted around and confronted this kid and he ran away empty-handed.

I’ve seen people robbed,  I’ve seen people walk right into things (including a plate-glass window).  I’ve seen people walking so slowly that other people were going into “walk rage” ( and I have to side with the ragers. ).

Moral of the story: (1) Always be aware of your surroundings. and (2) respect the people walking behind you; they may have somewhere to be on schedule, even if you don’t.

I sometimes use an IPod, but I am not listening to music.  Rather, I am listening to an audio book; the volume can be set much lower and the sound is of a different quality; I can hear everything that is going on around me.  I’d be afraid to have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

